Security+ Domain #3 Architecture and Design


Architecture and Design is a core component of a successfully managed Information Security environment. Not only is it a logical conclusion that Architecture and Design play an important role in Security+ preparation but rather a vital one. This article will examine Architecture and Design of an Information Security environment within the context of preparing for the CompTIA Security+ Certification Exam. Please note that this article will not suffice for an adequate review of the Architecture and Design portion of the Security+ exam. Rather, Security+ candidates should refer to InfoSec Institute’s comprehensive Security+ Training Course and/or Boot Camp for a proper refresher.

Outline of Security+ Architecture and Design Topics

Being that this article will focus on Architecture and Design from the point of view of the CompTIA Security+ exam, it would be helpful to define the universe of information that this portion of the exam covers. Below is a list of the subtopics covered on the Security+ exam:

AWS Builder Community Hub
  1. Use cases and purposes for frameworks, best practices, and secure configuration guides
  2. Implementation of secure network architecture concepts
  3. Implementation of secure systems design
  4. Importance of secure staging deployment concepts
  5. Security implications of embedded systems
  6. Secure application development and deployment concepts
  7. Cloud and visualization concepts
  8. Resiliency and automation to reduce risk
  9. Importance of physical security controls

Use Cases and Purpose for Frameworks, Best Practices, and Secure Configuration Guides

Candidates will want to divide this portion of Security+ into three subcategories – Industry-standard frameworks and reference architectures, Benchmarks/secure configuration guides, and Defense-in-depth/layered security.

Industry-standard frameworks and reference architectures will need to be able to be explained on the exam. Candidates will need to know the differences between regulatory and non-regulatory designations, national and international designations, as well as industry-specific frameworks.

Benchmarks/Secure Configuration Guides

Candidates will need to know the differences between the various Platform/vendor-specific (Read more...)

*** This is a Security Bloggers Network syndicated blog from InfoSec Resources authored by Greg Belding. Read the original post at: