PMP®️ Domain Information & Overview

The Project Management Professional (PMP) is a registered mark of the Project Management Institute, Inc.

Hello, and welcome back to this series on the Project Management Professional (PMP)®️ certification. In this article, we will cover everything you need to know about the domains/performance areas covered in the PMP examination.

First off, let’s start with an explanation of what domains are.

What Domains Are Covered on the PMP Exam?

Project management is defined as the application of knowledge, skills, tools and techniques to project activities/tasks to meet project requirements. The project activities/tasks a project manager has to perform are divided into five performance areas or domains. These are the five domains that are covered in the PMP exam to ensure you have all the competencies needed to successfully manage any project.

The domains are:


This domain covers defining a new project or phase and initial scope, getting authorization, getting initial financial commitment and identifying stakeholders.


This domain covers defining the scope, objectives and a clear course of action that will be taken to achieve the objectives. All the planning information is stored in the project management plan, which often needs to be revisited if a change happens.


This domain covers executing the work defined in the project management plan, coordinating people and resources.

Monitoring and Controlling

This domain covers tracking and reviewing the progress and performance of the project and initiating changes if necessary.


This domain covers finalizing all activities and formally close the project. It may involve getting client acceptance and documenting lessons learned or changes to assets.

How Often Are the Domains Updated?

In order to ensure that the Project Management Professional certification evolves with the profession and reflects competencies needed by present-day project managers in their day-to-day activities, the Project Management Institute (PMI®️) conducts (Read more...)

*** This is a Security Bloggers Network syndicated blog from InfoSec Resources authored by Tolulope Ogunsina. Read the original post at: