nCipher Security achieves Common Criteria EAL4+ certification - Security Boulevard

SBN nCipher Security achieves Common Criteria EAL4+ certification

nCipher Security achieves Common Criteria EAL4+ certification


Wed, 12/04/2019 – 22:06

DevOps Experience

nCipher’s nShield XC hardware security modules (HSMs) have received Common Criteria EAL4+ certification. This certification confirms that nShield HSMs meet the requirements of the European Union’s electronic Identification, Authentication and Trust Services (eIDAS) regulation.

With this Common Criteria certification, service providers who issue digital certificates, time stamps, or digital signatures can use nShield HSMs as a part of eIDAS compliant solutions.

nCipher security achieves

In addition to their eIDAS and Common Criteria certifications, nCipher nShield HSMs are certified to FIPS 140-2 Level 2 and Level 3, a standard defined by the US National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and the most widely adopted security benchmark for cryptographic solutions in government and commercial enterprises.

Earlier this year, nCipher also announced its nShield HSMs had enabled Red Hat, a leading provider of open source solutions, to achieve Common Criteria validation for its Red Hat Certificate System. To obtain its Common Criteria certification, Red Hat was required to protect critical root CA keys with FIPS 140-2 Level 3 certified hardware. A long-standing nCipher partner, Red Hat used the nShield HSM to meet this requirement and provide a root of trust.

To learn more about the Common Criteria EAL 4+ certification, please see the official press release. For a comprehensive overview of how nCipher helps organizations meet legal and compliance standards, check out nCipher’s dedicated landing page and stay tuned for an upcoming blog post.

Blog Authored date

*** This is a Security Bloggers Network syndicated blog from Drupal blog posts authored by ncipher. Read the original post at:

Techstrong Group