Changes to CISA Job Practice Areas

In its press release on November 1st, 2018, the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) announced its intention to update job practice areas of its Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) certification for 2019 and beyond. The new version of the exam will take effect in June 2019. However, candidates can currently acquire updated CISA material and book training courses to start preparing for the exam.

If you want to take the CISA exam with current job practice areas on or before May 24th, 2019, the final registration deadline is May 18th, 2019. This testing window starts from February 1st, 2019 to May 24th, 2019. Afterwards, you must take the new exam.

The CISA certification concerns the security and deployment of modern IT technology and information systems. Thousands of cyberthreats are emerging every day, and security practitioners develop new strategies to prevent these threats. In addition, modern technological advancements also require analysts to keep their knowledge up to date in order to learn the deployment of these new technologies. For this to be done effectively, ISACA has updated CISA job practice areas to make it perfect for most recent industry trends impacting the IT audit realm.

What Are the Major Changes to CISA Job Practice Areas?

The number of domains will remain the same. However, slight changes have been made to exam content and weightage criteria. In addition, two subdomains have also been added to each of the five job practice areas. The following table shows a comparison of the 2016 CISA domains to 2019 CISA domains.

Domains% Weight
1. Current — The Process of Auditing Information Systems21%
1. New — Information System Auditing Process21%
2. Current — Governance and Management of IT16%
2. New — Same as current17%
3. Current — Information Systems Acquisition, (Read more...)

*** This is a Security Bloggers Network syndicated blog from Infosec Resources authored by Fakhar Imam. Read the original post at: