CISSP FAQs – The Top 10

The ISC (2) is one of the leading Cybersecurity cert organizations in the world. They offer numerous certs, such as the following:

  • The Certified Information Systems Professional Security Professional (CISSP);
  • The Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP);
  • The Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP);
  • The Certified Authorization Professional (CAP);
  • The Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP).

Out of these certs, it is the CISSP that has remained one of the most popular as well as most recognized. Because of this, and the ever-changing Cyber-security landscape, the dynamics of the exam are changing as well, to keep it fresh and up to date with the latest trends.

This article addresses some of the key questions about the recent changes that have occurred to the CISSP.

  1. Why are changes being made to the CISSP?

    The Cyber-security landscape is an ever-changing one. What’s new today could very well be “ice cold” in the short term. The content of the exam needs to remain up to date, to reflect the demands of today’s IT Security professional. The updates that have been made are designed to reflect the new roles and responsibilities of the IT Security professional.

  2. What specifically has changed?

    In general terms, the study content for the exam has changed, updated, etc. to bring the candidate the most updated materials as they prepare for the CISSP. The domain names have been changed as well, as can be seen by the following matrix:

Old Domain Name New Domain Name % Weight on Exam
Security and Risk Management (Domain 1) Security and Risk Management (Domain 1) 15% (New)
16% (Old)
Asset Security (Domain 2) Asset Security (Domain 2) 10% (New)
10% (Old)
Security Engineering (Domain 3) Security Architecture and Engineering (Domain 3) 13% (New)
12% (Old)
Communications and Network Security (Domain 4) Communication and Network Security (Domain (Read more...)

*** This is a Security Bloggers Network syndicated blog from InfoSec Resources authored by Ravi Das (writer/revisions editor). Read the original post at: