CGEIT Domain 2: Strategic Management - Security Boulevard

CGEIT Domain 2: Strategic Management

Strategic Management falls under the second domain of ISACA’s Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) exam and constitutes 20% of the overall objectives for the exam. Strategic management ensures that IT allows and supports the accomplishment of enterprise’s objectives through the alignment and integration of IT-strategic plans with the enterprise’s overall strategic plans. The following sections delve into strategic management that candidates must understand to take the CGEIT exam.

What Topics are Covered in this Domain?

This domain covers six (6) task statements and eleven (11) knowledge statements. CGEIT candidates must understand these topics thoroughly to best prepare for the CGEIT exam. Each topic of this domain is listed below:

Task Statements

  1. Evaluate, direct, and monitor IT strategic planning processes to ensure alignment with enterprise goals
  2. Ensure that appropriate policies and procedures are in place to support IT and enterprise strategic alignment
  3. Ensure that the IT strategic planning processes and related outputs are adequately documented and communicated
  4. Ensure that enterprise architecture (EA) is integrated into the IT strategic planning process
  5. Ensure prioritization of IT initiatives to achieve enterprise objectives
  6. Ensure that IT objectives cascade into clear roles, responsibilities, and actions for IT personnel

Knowledge Statements

  1. Knowledge of an enterprise’s strategic plan and how it relates to IT
  2. Knowledge of strategic planning processes and techniques
  3. Knowledge of the impact of changes in business strategy on IT strategy
  4. Knowledge of barriers to the achievement of strategic alignment
  5. Knowledge of policies and procedures necessary to support IT and business strategic alignment
  6. Knowledge of methods to document and communicate IT strategic planning processes (for example, IT dashboard/balanced scorecard, key indicators)
  7. Knowledge of the components, principles, and frameworks of enterprise architecture (EA)
  8. Knowledge of current and future technologies
  9. Knowledge of prioritization processes related to IT initiatives
  10. Knowledge of scope, objectives, and benefits of (Read more...)

*** This is a Security Bloggers Network syndicated blog from InfoSec Resources authored by Fakhar Imam. Read the original post at: