Information security manager certifications - Security Boulevard

Information security manager certifications


For many organizations, the role of information security (IS) manager is both pivotal and strategically important. Among their many responsibilities are managing an organization’s security team and assessing current organization technology for possible upgrades and potential vulnerabilities. 

This heightened importance for the organization requires a heightened standard of information security knowledge and skills. Certifications are a great way to verify this expertise, and to this end, most IS managers have at least one certification under their belt. 

This article will detail IS manager certifications and will explore some of the best certifications for this role including the Certified Information Systems Security Professional certification (CISSP), the Certified Information Security Manager (CISM), the Certified Information Systems Security Professional-Information Systems Security Management Professional (CISSP-ISSMP) and the GIAC Security Leadership Certification (GSLC). 


Certified Information Systems Security Professional, or CISSP, is an advanced-level certification hosted by (ISC)2. Its target audience is experienced information security professionals, and organizations seek information security professionals with this certification for the subject matter prowess it verifies. 

This certification covers a vast amount of information that IS managers need to know to excel in this role. To earn CISSP, you are required to pass a certification exam that covers eight domains of knowledge:

  • Security and risk management
  • Security architecture and engineering
  • Asset security
  • Communication and network security
  • Security assessment and testing
  • Security operations
  • Identity and access management (IAM)
  • Software development security

CISSP certification prerequisites

The advanced level of this certification comes with comparatively steep certification prerequisites. CISSP candidates are required to have earned at least five years of cumulative, paid work experience in two or more of CISSP’s certification exam domains of knowledge. 

This seemingly strict standard is softened a bit if you have the right education or prior certification. CISSP candidates with (Read more...)

*** This is a Security Bloggers Network syndicated blog from Infosec Resources authored by Greg Belding. Read the original post at: