CyberPatriot Competitions Offer Answers to America’s Cybersecurity Workforce Challenges

On May 2, 2019, President Trump released a new Executive Order on America’s Cybersecurity Workforce. A big part of this EO covers the need for more cyber competitions. Here’s an excerpt from section 3 the EO:

“To fulfill the Workforce Report’s vision of preparing, growing, and sustaining a national cybersecurity workforce that safeguards and promotes America’s national security and economic prosperity, priority consideration will be given to the following imperatives:

To launch a national Call to Action to draw attention to and mobilize public- and private-sector resources to address cybersecurity workforce needs…

(c)  Within 1 year of the date of this order, the Secretary of Education, in consultation with the DAPHSCT and the National Science Foundation, shall develop and implement, consistent with applicable law, an annual Presidential Cybersecurity Education Award to be presented to one elementary and one secondary school educator per year who best instill skills, knowledge, and passion with respect to cybersecurity and cybersecurity-related subjects.  In developing and implementing this award, the Secretary of Education shall emphasize demonstrated superior educator accomplishment — without respect to research, scholarship, or technology development — as well as academic achievement by the educator’s students. …”

There are many excellent components to this EO, but the focus on cybersecurity attack/defend competitions with all age groups is especially exciting, in my opinion. In a quote for Fortune Magazine,  Congressman Jim Langevin (D-RI), cofounder and cochair of the congressional cybersecurity caucus, praised the order for recognizing people who “too often [do] unheralded work keeping us safe.”

“Games can be a highly effective way to develop, retain, and reward talent. For proof, look no further than another cybersecurity contest, the 2019 National Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition. Jake Smith and Daniel Chen, both members of this year’s winning team, interns at Raytheon (a sponsor of the event), and (Read more...)

*** This is a Security Bloggers Network syndicated blog from Lohrmann on Cybersecurity authored by Lohrmann on Cybersecurity. Read the original post at: